Continue to Site

    GGRA Announces Finalists for The Saucy Awards

  • Industry News October 6, 2016

    The Golden Gate Restaurant Association (GGRA) announced the final four nominees for 16 open award categories to be honored in its first awards gala, The Saucy Awards, taking place on November 14 at the Herbst Theater. The GGRA, celebrating its 80th Anniversary this year, announced the awards and gala in August. The awards will recognize the San Francisco Bay Area restaurant and bar community for its excellence.

    During an open nomination period from August 1—September 22, hospitality industry professionals and concepts, not exclusive to GGRA members, within seven Bay Area counties (Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Sonoma) were nominated by their peers or self-nomination for 16 open awards. The Saucy Awards steering committee, consisting of six industry veterans & luminaries, have since narrowed down the field to four nominees for each award.

    In addition to the 16 industry-driven award categories, there are two additional awards. The GGRA has partnered with San Francisco magazine to present a People’s Choice Award for Restaurant of the Year at the gala, honoring the public’s favorite restaurant of 2016. Nominations are now open to the general public through San Francisco magazine’s website until October 23. People’s Choice nominations will then be narrowed down to the final four nominees, which will also be voted on by the general public from October 26—November 9. Finally, for the 18th award category, the Golden Gate Restaurant Association will present its own GGRA Lifetime Achievement Award at the gala on November 14.

    “We have such an incredible pool of passionate and talented industry professionals in the Bay Area and felt that an awards gala that recognizes that talent was missing from the landscape” says Executive Director of the GGRA Gwyneth Borden.

    Priced at $150 per person, tickets include The Saucy Awards gala at Herbst Theater, beginning at 7:00 p.m. Following the awards ceremony, guests will enjoy a reception catered by Estate Events by Meadowood in the Green Room. The reception will include cocktails by Campari, wine by Robert Mondavi Winery and heavy hors d’oeuvres. Guests will also be invited to continue the celebration at a private after-party at Mr. Tipple’s Recording Studio.

    Complete List of Nominees

    Category: Chefs

    Chef of the Year presented by OpenTable

    David Barzelay—Lazy Bear

    Brandon Jew—Mister Jiu’s

    Ravi Kapur—Liholiho Yacht Club

    Aaron London—Al’s Place

    Pastry Chef of the Year

    Melissa Chou—Mister Jiu’s

    Belinda Leong—b.patisserie

    Michelle Polzine—Twentieth Century Café

    Sarah Rich—Rich Table

    Rising Star Chef of the Year presented by Estate Events by Meadowood

    John Griffiths—Bluestem Brasserie

    Laura Meyer—Tony’s Pizza Napoletana

    Melissa Reitz—Bar Agricole

    Jose Miguel Smith—La Urbana

    Category: Service

    Restaurateur of the Year presented by OpenTable

    Nicole Krasinski and Stuart Brioza—State Bird & The Progress

    Umberto Gibin—Perbacco & Barbacco

    Craig and Annie Stoll—Delfina Restaurant Group

    Michael and Lindsay Tusk—Quince & Cotogna

    Beverage Professional of the Year

    Ian Adams—15 Romolo

    Kevin Diedrich—Pacific Cocktail Haven

    Shelley Lindgren—A16 & SPQR

    Lulu McAllister—NOPA & Liholiho Yacht Club

    Employee of the Year

    Victor Herrera Chavez—American Grilled Cheese Kitchen

    Kory Cogdill—Tacolicious

    Fausto Galicia—Michael Mina

    Danny Ulloa—Souvla

    Manager of the Year

    Max Coane—Saison

    Justine Flynn—Souvla

    Jacopo Rosito—54 Mint SF

    Daniel Zomerfeld—Campton Place at Taj

    Outstanding Industry Service

    Georgopoulos and Economidis, LLP

    Liz Subauste at Sobremesa SF

    Greenleaf Produce

    Monterey Fish Market

    Category: Restaurants

    Exceptional Full Service Restaurant of the Year presented by BiRite Foodservice Distributors

    Lazy Bear

    Mister Jiu’s



    Exceptional Fast Casual Restaurant of the Year presented by Georgopoulos & Economidis, LLP



    Super Duper Burgers

    Uno Dos Tacos

    Exceptional Non Brick & Mortar Restaurant of the Year

    Curry Up Now


    Señor Sisig

    The Lunchpad SF

    Category: Programs

    Wine Program of the Year presented by Robert Mondavi Winery

    1760—Gianpaolo Paterlini

    A16 & SPQR—Shelley Lindgren

    NOPA & Liholiho Yacht Club—LuLu McAllister

    One Market—Tonya Pitts

    Cocktail Program of the Year presented by Campari America

    Bar Agricole

    Roka Bar (Roka Akor)

    The Treasury


    Beer Program of the Year

    21st Amendment Brewery and Restaurant

    Monk’s Kettle

    Smokestack at Magnolia Brewing

    Trappist Lounge

    Sustainable Restaurant or Bar of the Year presented by Recology

    Healdsburg SHED—Cindy Daniel and Doug Lipton

    Ichi Sushi—Erin and Tim Archuleta

    The Perennial—Anthony Myint & Karen Leibowitz

    Twenty Five Lusk—Matthew Dolan

    Community Spirit of the Year presented by Comcast

    1300 on Fillmore—David Lawrence

    Jardiniere—Traci Des Jardins

    Tacolicious—Sara Deseran and Joe Hargrave

    The Bon Vivants—Josh Harris and Scott Baird

    Now that nominees have been selected, restaurant members of the GGRA and all nominees will be provided a single ballot to vote for the final winners. Voters will rank their top four choices. To ensure unbiased and fair results, OUM & Co. LLP, an independent accounting firm will tally and process the votes to determine the winners.

    The Saucy Awards, will benefit the GGRA’s Scholarship & Education Foundation (GGRASF), as a part of its initiative to advance and support the hospitality industry in the Bay Area. The GGRA serves to celebrate and empower the restaurant community through advocacy, education, marketing, events, and training.

    News and information presented in this release has not been corroborated by QSR, Food News Media, or Journalistic, Inc.