Hungry Howie’s held its annual national convention from May 15-17 to recognize the best of the best in the company’s stores and franchisees.

The Franchisee of the Year Award went to Don Copus for best embracing Hungry Howie’s brand concept and philosophy. Copus also earned the Highest Percent of Sales Increase Award for his store in River Rouge, Michigan.

For great strength in marketing and operations, Andrew Newman (Ridgeland and Brandon, Mississippi) and Steve Peterson (Waterford, Highland, Keego Harbor, White Lake, Hartland, Clarkston, Ortonville, and Linden, Michigan) received the Building the Brand Award.

Patrick Patterson (Ludington and Clare, Michigan), Jeffrey Hart, (Williamston, Stockbridge, Brooklyn and Mason, Michigan), and Susan Wall (Irmo, South Carolina) were all recognized for their commitment to local store marketing programs with the Community Marketer Award.

Freshman franchisee Philippia Buckner of Detroit, Michigan, received the Best Newcomer Award for her performance and contribution during her first year, and Preston and Sabrina Starr won the Highest Store Opening Volume Award for their opening in Douglasville, Georgia.

Several stores also won the Upper Crust Award, which recognizes extraordinary store service, cleanliness and quality standards. The winners of the Upper Crust Award are Brian Edelen (North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina); Daniel Satut (Raleigh, North Carolina); Elnora MacKenzie (Tehachapi, California); John Brenneman (Alliance, Ohio); Keith Smith (Douglas, Georgia); Michael Cuffman (Kent, Ohio); Norm Fisher (Toledo, Ohio); and Robert Leger (Holly and Richmond, Michigan).

“We are happy to see our franchise owners attend the conference each year,” says Steve Jackson, president of Hungry Howie’s. “Honoring the top performers is a great way to recognize and motivate all of our franchisees and benefit our customers in the process.”

Denise Lee Yohn: QSR's Marketing Guru, Employee Management, News, Pizza, Hungry Howie's