Continue to Site

    Indiana McDonald's Honors Students

  • Industry News February 15, 2000

    McDonald's of Central Indiana will honor ten Central Indiana high school students as Black History Makers of Tomorrow, Wednesday, February 16, 2000 in a ceremony at the Indiana State House Rotunda.

    The students, who were selected based on their academic achievement, character and community service, submitted essays entitled "Madam CJ Walker: Her Dreams, My Dreams, the Dreams of the Future" in honor of Walkers' contributions to African Americans, the nation, and the State of Indiana.

    "We are quite excited about our program and the accomplishments of our winners," said McDonald's Owner/Operator Eric Moore. The "Black History Makers program is one of our premiere educational outreach programs. It provides an opportunity for all students regardless of their cultural background the opportunity to come together as one and celebrate the accomplishments of those individuals who have shaped history," he added.

    The 1999 - 2000 Black History Makers of Tomorrow are as follows:

    Christopher Adams— Cathedral High School

    Marcus Barnes— Ben Davis High School

    Ashlee Branam— Shelbyville High School

    Amanda Byrum— Winchester Community High School

    Darrell Ford— The Indiana Academy

    Napoleon Harrington— Ben Davis High School

    Joe McClyde— Cathedral High School

    Christine Oliver— Warren Central High School

    Heather Thomas—Muncie Southside High School

    Darlene Vaughn—Pike High School

    Each student will receive a $1,000 college scholarship from McDonald's Restaurants of Central Indiana and commendations from Governor O'Bannon.

    Read More