Industry News | October 25, 2013

IWCA Announces New Board of Directors

The International Women's Coffee Alliance (IWCA), a nonprofit dedicated to empowering women in the international coffee community, announced its 2013-2015 board of directors following its annual joint committee and board meeting held on September 18-19, 2013, in Seattle.


Desiree Logsdon was elected as the new board president. Logsdon is the vice president of marketing at the Bunn-O-Matic Corporation and has more than 30 years experience in the foodservice industry. She has been a vital IWCA member for the past six years.


In addition to Logsdon, the rest of the executive team includes:

Mery Santos, SuperGraphics - vice president

Phyllis Johnson, BD Imports Inc. - vice president

Shannon Craige, Carolina Vending - secretary

Sharon Riechers, Bunn-O-Matic Corporation - treasurer


IWCA also welcomed five new members to the board. These members function as the directors of their respective functions, leading teams of volunteers to carry out the duties of the organization:

Annabella Dagilo, Capitales Unidos, S.A. de C.V. - chapter relations

Maureen McHugh, Equator Coffees & Teas - events

Leonor Gavina-Valls, F. Gavina & Sons - fundraising

Helen Griffith, S&D Coffee & Tea - marketing

Mansi Chokshi, Specialty Coffee Association of America - membership


Continuing in their roles on the board are the following members:

Kelle Vandenberg, Pacific Bag Inc. - development

Pauline Faull, Coffee Bean International - sponsorship

Jennifer Gallegos, Coffee Fair Trade USA - strategic alliances


The board paid special thanks to outgoing members past president Grace Mena and vice president Johanna Bot for their leadership in the 2011-2013 term.

Add new comment