Industry News | November 20, 2013

Pie Five Marks Opening of Second Kansas Unit

Just a few short months ago, Overland Park, Kansas, welcomed the Kansas City area’s first Pie Five Pizza restaurant. On November 20, another Pie Five Pizza location opened its doors at the Oak Park Commons Shopping Center in Lenexa, Kansas. The grand opening marks the fast-casual concept’s second restaurant in Kansas and its 17th nationwide.

Former Applebee’s president and CEO Dave Goebel, along with his sons Kerry and Kevin, are in the process of bringing 10 Pie Five restaurants to the local area.

“Folks have really embraced the Pie Five concept since we opened in August, just as we expected,” says Goebel, whose career as a restaurant executive spans nearly four decades. “Customers are quickly getting used to the idea that they really can have it all: Their own customized, personal pizza, with as many toppings as they like, at one great price, all in about five minutes. It’s delicious, and it’s simply perfect for today’s on-the-go consumer.”

At Pie Five, guests can choose from combinations of pizzas and a variety of specialty pie choices prepared in less than five minutes on one of four crusts. The rapidly expanding chain is capitalizing on growing consumer demand for fresh dining options.

Prior to Wednesday’s official opening, the new Lenexa restaurant hosted private events to collect donations for Children’s Mercy Hospital, with a goal of generating at least $5,000 in contributions. The Goebels will present a check to a hospital executive during the grand opening ceremony at 10:30 a.m. on November 21.

“With the help of our generous customers, we’ll be able to donate at least $10,000 to Children’s Mercy from our pre-opening fundraising activities at both restaurants over the last 90 days,” Goebel says.

With the Lenexa opening, Pie Five will have 12 locations in Texas, two each in Kansas and Utah, and one in North Carolina. More than 110 announced franchise units are currently under contract in Florida, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.

Add new comment