QSR Columnist Earns Award Nomination

    Industry News | May 23, 2008
    QSR magazine announced today the nomination of columnist Roy Bergold to the 58th annual Green Eyeshade Awards for outstanding achievement in journalism.

    Bergold has been a regular contributor to QSR magazine for two years, writing a monthly anecdotal column about the challenges of the fast-food industry called Through the Window. Bergold started his career at the Leo Burnett Company in 1967. Two years later he decided to sell hamburgers instead, and began working for the McDonald's Corporation. He started as an assistant advertising manager and after working for 33 years, retired in 2001 as the Chief Creative Officer for McDonald's.

    While working for McDonald's, Bergold was responsible for the company’s advertising worldwide. During his time with the fast-food giant, McDonald's earned every creative award possible, including Cannes, Clios, and the Four A's Best Five Year Campaign.

    Bergold's writing for QSR magazine includes stories and musings from his days with McDonald's, often tying them in with current applications and trends in the quick-service and fast-casual foodservice industry.

    “The industry experience Mr. Bergold brings to the pages of QSR is a huge asset to our reporting,” says Blair Chancey, QSR’s associate editor.

    “Whether it be answering e-mails from readers or offering advice on hot industry topics, Through the Window is undoubtedly a top-notch industry column. QSR is extremely proud of Mr. Bergold’s nomination for the annual Green Eyeshade Award.”

    Bergold has been nominated for the Green Eyeshade Award in the category of Magazine Humorous Commentary for his March 2007 column “A Window is not a Trash Can.” You can read the article and the rest of Roy's writings at QSRmagazine.com.

    The awards will be given out at the Green Eyeshade Gala, Saturday, July 19, 2008, from 6:30 to 10 p.m., at The Commerce Club in downtown Atlanta.

    The Green Eyeshade Awards were started by the Atlanta Professional Chapter of The Society of Professional Journalism (SPJ) and are now administered by regional directors for the society. The regional journalism competition recognizes outstanding journalism in 11 southeastern states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia. The finalists will be honored and first-place winners announced at a banquet in late June in Atlanta, which is being organized in partnership with the Atlanta Press Club.

    News and information presented in this release has not been corroborated by WTWH Media LLC.