The QSR editorial staff was honored by American Business Media at the 49th annual Neal Awards Show at The Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City.

The staffers were saluted by a distinguished board of judges for their work on the October 2002 issue of QSR. The judging panel, chaired by Abe Peck, Professor and Chair, Magazine Program, Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University, selected 27 Neal Award winners out of the 81 finalists from an original 1,093 entries.

Paying tribute to the winning editors, American Business Media president and CEO Gordon T. Hughes II said, “These journalists and editors deserve high praise indeed. Their expertise, skill, and successful track records of informing the industry on issues of importance place them at the forefront of their fields.”

Often hailed for its preeminence as the “Pulitzer Prize of the business press,” the Neal Award is the business publishing industry’s salute to individual editors for outstanding editorial excellence. Winning entries were selected for contribution to the field the publication serves, as well as for journalistic enterprise and editorial craftsmanship.

Entries are divided into three classifications of business publications, according to the publication’s revenues in advertising and circulation, with eight editorial categories within each size classification. Material must have appeared between December 1, 2001, and November 30, 2002. There are additional categories for a single issue of a newspaper/news tabloid, start-up, and web site.

The Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards were created by American Business Media to recognize and reward excellence in independent business publications. The awards are named after American Business Media’s first managing director, who remained active in promoting the business press throughout his life.

Founded in 1906, American Business Media is the industry association for global information providers that produce magazines, newsletters, CD-ROMs, web sites, trade show and other media, reaching an audience of more than 47 million professionals and generating over $16 billion in advertising revenues in 2002.